Nailed it!

A massive new trend alert that I have noticed has arrived in the form of nail art. The old theory of ‘if you have a steady hand with polish there’s no need to pay for a manicure’ is completely out of the window. You don’t have to pay, but you may as well when they look this good. It’s no longer acceptable to just have acrylic french tips, this is now too dated. Why have white tips when you can have multi-coloured?! The best thing I ever did was put all my nail polishes into a big shoe box, this way I can get creative on my own when I’m bored in the house in front of the TV.

Nail artists are the new hair stylists and names like WAH nails and Sophy Robson are spreading like wildfire and becoming the new Nicky Clarkes of this world. I found Sophy Robson via twitter about four months ago and what an inspiration that woman is! She has just released a line of instructional how to booklets for Sephora in the US, so we can all achieve the professional look at home. Thanks to her, my wallet hurts. I have spent more money on polishes and nail art pens in the last few months trying out her new ideas. I’ve had rhinestones, leopard print, pastels, minx, smiley faces, polka dots, you name it. I’ve never changed my styles so much but there’s something about doing my nails that relaxes me.

This trend is obvious if you look for it, adverts in magazines have started incorporating nails more and nail art’s being used more on the runways, too. For instance, Topshop at London Fashion Week gave their models dalmatian nails to match the seasons dalmatian prints. The nail art trend has always been popular but has become more mainstream with the release of shatter polishes though brands such as O.P.I. and Barry M. With openings of WAH nails in Topshop on Oxford Street, fabulous and quirky nails are now easier than ever to obtain. My suggestion is to get down to Boots, buy some polishes and have a lazy sunday painting and trying new things.

Leave a comment

Filed under fashion, Nails

Leave a Reply

