Old friends are the best

From the age of around 18, you learn to deal with friends going away for long periods of time. Gap years and friends off to different universities all around the country becomes the norm. I have a group of eight best friends that I went to school with and we all study or work in different parts of the country. The majority of us have been travelling at some point and we’ve all gotten pretty good at saying goodbye. This however, never makes it any easier and we always all get knocked for six when one of us goes away again. As I write, I am going to see off one of my best friends tonight as she is leaving for the states for six months.

I suppose I never helped myself by not moving away to go to university, I stayed in my hometown and watched my favourite people around me move away. I moved into my own place that was closer to campus but still only ten minutes from my parents. School and sixth form was a blast for me, seeing my best friends every day, messing around in the common room, what wasn’t to enjoy? We all have the most fantastic bond and we all know that friendships that are as close as ours take hard work. We stay in constant contact with the help of social networking sites, groups and phone calls. We grew up together and therefore understand each other perfectly, our flaws, pet hates and exactly how to wind each other up. Arguements with us all are few and never last long as we are all pretty relaxed and can be one hundred percent honest with each other. I consider myself so incredibly lucky with my friends as I know it’s the kind of bond others wish to have. We love each other so much that being apart only makes it that much better when we get back together. There is no hesitation in my mind that we wont be there throughout all the other stages in our lives, marriage, kids, etc. But it’s also a given that they’ll be there throughout the bad times too, they are the best seven shoulders to cry on.  I’ve always said I have the best friends in the whole world, they just aren’t with me. But, when I think about it, they really are, we’d move mountains to see one another if there was a problem and are always on a phone for advice.  I know that although tonight my friend will be leaving with a heavy heart but with us all securely in it.

Leave a comment

Filed under friendship

Leave a Reply

